If you face a driving under the influence charge in Colorado, you can expect the penalties associated with a conviction to vary based on factors such as whether it is your first offense, among others. Even first-time offenders face considerable penalties, however, and the Colorado Department of Transportation reports that the average cost of a first-time DUI conviction now tops $10,000.
A DUI conviction may impact your life in other ways, too, in addition to the financial hardship. You may, depending on your situation, lose your job, or you may find that your family or personal relationships suffer as a result. You may also experience emotional challenges stemming from the incident, particularly if you injure someone. Even if you do not directly cause harm to another, the financial repercussions can still be severe.
Breaking down the cost of a DUI
On average, a first-time DUI offender in Colorado must shell out $10,270 if charged and convicted of the crime. About $2,500 of this amount, on average, goes toward criminal defense fees, and, if convicted, your auto insurance can increase by about $3,000 over the coming five-year period. Additionally, you can expect to have to pay numerous miscellaneous fees and fines, from an $800 “First Conviction Fine” to somewhere between $600 and $1,200 for a “Probation Supervision Fee.”
You should also expect to have to undergo alcohol education classes that will run you about $575, and adding an ignition interlock device to your car will also cost you about $970 on average. Add a broad number of smaller miscellaneous fees and expenditures (detoxification costs, court costs and so on), and you are looking at an expenditure of more than $10,000 if convicted.
While the financial repercussions of a Colorado DUI are considerable, you may face additional consequences for your actions, among them jail time, probation and community service.