Tough Defense Against Domestic Violence Charges

People frequently get arrested on assault or domestic violence charges that are based on relatively benign conduct. Even standing in a doorway during an argument and telling someone, “You’re not leaving this room until we settle this,” can be misconstrued as false imprisonment, which is an act of domestic violence.

If you hold down the button on the telephone so that your spouse can’t carry out his or her threat to call a family member, it can be considered “interference with telephonic communication,” which is an act of domestic violence.

When your freedom, rights and reputation are threatened by an accusation like this in Colorado, do not wait to take action to defend yourself. Turn to The Law Center P.C. Our skilled team of criminal justice attorneys provides vigorous and knowledgeable representation.

Understanding The Penalties For A Conviction

When police respond to a domestic violence call, Colorado statute states that law enforcement officers “shall” make an arrest, not “may” make an arrest. If the police arrive and have probable cause to believe that an act of domestic violence has taken place — which can be no more than one party claiming it happened — they must take someone into custody.

Convictions for domestic violence in Colorado carry severe life consequences. In addition to possibly serving jail time, you will lose your Second Amendment right to possess firearms or ammunition. Even if you take a deferred judgment and sentence, you must still complete a domestic violence evaluation, in addition to attending 36 weeks of counseling. You may also prejudice your parental rights in a current or future custody dispute. A conviction or deferred judgment and sentence on a domestic violence charge renders the defendant ineligible for certification by the Peace Officer Standards and Training of the attorney general’s office, meaning they can never be employed as a law enforcement officer in Colorado.

The financial cost of a conviction is also high. Domestic violence counseling usually costs around $3,600. Plus, you will have to pay for storing any firearms, and you will have to pay $50 as a probation supervision fee every month.

Domestic Violence And Divorce

Accusations of domestic violence frequently lead to divorce. Whether you are the accused or the victim, our firm is experienced in the issues surrounding domestic violence. Our lawyers are highly recommended by domestic violence treatment providers on both sides. It is not uncommon that the true victim is criminally charged with domestic violence. This can be emotionally devastating. The mandatory protection order issued in a criminal case can be disruptive to the divorce process and give the accuser the upper hand in the divorce.

The best course of action may be entirely counter-intuitive. You need experienced counsel to navigate these waters rife with danger. What may seem like a great plea bargain in the criminal case may seal your children’s fate in the divorce matter. Your best plan is to have lawyers in the same firm handling both your criminal charges and your domestic relations matter. Do not entrust your cases to attorneys who only dabble in the fields.

We Have The Experience You Can Count On

Founding attorney and Managing Director Robert B. Wareham is a former law enforcement officer with an in-depth understanding of criminal law in general and domestic violence in particular. In fact, following a complete repeal and re-enactment of the Colorado statutes pertaining to civil protection orders by the Colorado General Assembly in 2013, he authored the revised chapter on the topic in “The Practitioner’s Guide to Colorado Domestic Relations Law.” He is the attorney other lawyers look up to as an authority on the subject.

Schedule an initial consultation with one of our lawyers in Highlands Ranch by calling The Law Center P.C. at 303-991-5280 or contacting us by email.