Divorcing spouses have a lot to think about as they begin to discuss co-parenting plans. Common issues include how to handle holidays and who pays for music lessons, tutoring and the like.
Prescription drug abuse is not a new thing in Colorado. In fact, according to the Denver Post, the state has one of the highest rates of prescription drug abuse in the nation. Fortunately, deaths from opioid overdoses have gone down in 2016, the preliminary reports say.
Did you already get married without signing a prenuptial agreement? Are you nervous about the prospects of divorce or your spouse having ulterior motives? If so, it is not too late to safeguard your assets, promote financial unity and simplify potential division of property. You can sign a postnuptial agreement, which is essentially the same thing as a prenuptial agreement after the wedding.
A divorce does not have to signal the end of a person's love life. According to data from the Pew Research Center, approximately 40 percent of all marriages in 2013 involved a person who had been married previously. While a person going through a separation can certainly marry again once the court finalizes the divorce, he or she should be careful of dating before the finalization.
Domestic violence is a scourge that Colorado is determined to overcome. People in positions of administrative power may have a level of responsibility to take action when they are on notice that someone under their review or control may be committing DV. It is no longer only the violent actor who can suffer the consequence of his actions, but so can those who may otherwise turn a blind eye.
Conflict is a fact in many divorces, but it does not always spring from the same source. For example, a couple could be splitting amicably, but things go downhill when one person starts dating someone new. In another situation, one partner may argue against spousal support, with the other partner feeling resentful that the contributions she made by staying at home are unrecognized.
Divorce is on the decline in Colorado. In an article by Colorado Public Radio, it stated that the divorce rate in Colorado is the lowest it has been since 2004. Reports show that 4.08 divorces take place out of every 1,000 residents.
Colorado law prohibits driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs that cause impairment. Several statutes exist that govern various specific aspects of this general prohibition.
If you face a driving under the influence charge in Colorado, you can expect the penalties associated with a conviction to vary based on factors such as whether it is your first offense, among others. Even first-time offenders face considerable penalties, however, and the Colorado Department of Transportation reports that the average cost of a first-time DUI conviction now tops $10,000.
If you can see the writing on the wall and know without a doubt that your marriage is about to end, you need to consider your options. You could let the situation become tense, stressful and chaotic, or you could put together a sound exit plan that becomes operational when the time comes to broach the subject of divorce.